Navigate / search

Faculty Honored by American College of Physicians

In fall 2018, three distinguished members of the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) earned awards from the American College of Physicians (ACP).

The organization offers 24 awards and a number of masterships each year. The ACP award winners from SMHS included Jillian S. Catalanotti, MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine, who earned the Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians; Marie L. Borum, MD, RESD ’88, EdD ’03, MPH ’95, professor of medicine, who received an ACP mastership; and Helen Burstin, MD, MPH, executive vice president and CEO for the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and associate clinical professor of medicine, who received an ACP mastership.

Masters must be highly accomplished professionals demonstrating eminence in practice, leadership, or medical research, and they must be distinguished by the excellence and significance of their contributions to the field of medicine.