Navigate / search

In Memoriam

Oscar I. Dodek Jr., M.D. ’56, J.D. ’85, Professor Emeritus of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the George Washington University (GW) School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), died March 2, 2017.


A native Washingtonian, Dodek had a lengthy career as a physician specializing in reproductive endocrinology. At SMHS, he served as a clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology for 35 years and became Professor Emeritus in 1998. He was the first board-certified reproductive endocrinologist in the Washington, D.C., area, and specialized in the latest techniques to combat infertility. In 1978, Dodek established the Division of Reproductive Endocrinology at GW.

Dodek earned his M.D. degree from GW in 1956. He completed his residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at Mount Sinai Medical Center and served a fellowship at the Worcester Foundation for Experimental Biology. In 1985, Dodek graduated from GW Law School and became a member of the Order of the Coif, an honor society for United States law graduates.

Dodek had many civic and philanthropic interests and was a passionate advocate for human rights and women’s issues. The Kane-King-Dodek Obstetrical Honor Society was established to recognize the leaders in the department of obstetrics and gynecology at GW. The Oscar I. Dodek and Mildred S. Dodek and Joan B. and Oscar I. Dodek Jr., M.D. ’56, J.D. ’85, professorship, established in 1982, has been held by a notable list of SMHS leaders, including the current Dodek Professor and Chair, Nancy D. Gaba, M.D. ’93, RESD ’97, FACOG, who was installed Oct. 8, 2014.

Jean L. Fourcroy-Behr, M.D., Ph.D., RESD ’79, M.P.H., died in October 2016. Fourcroy-Behr was the first woman admitted to the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences urology residency program. In 1981, Fourcroy-Behr became only the fifth woman in the country to earn board certification in urology.

In 2013, in recognition of her fierce determination and her guidance as a role model for women entering the field of urology, SMHS established the Jean L. Fourcroy-Behr, M.D., Research Award, thanks to a generous gift from Fourcroy-Behr and her husband Armin Behr.

“I hope it will encourage more residents to take an interest in research, and more faculty and others to be supportive,” said Fourcroy-Behr at the time.

James C. Bruce, M.D. ’51, RESD ’55
Arnold L. Case, M.D. ’60
William Chin-Lee, M.D. ’47
William S. Costello, CERT ’95
Paul R. Dinsmore, M.D. ’58
Morris Feitel, M.D. ’57
Lynn D. George, M.D. ’56, B.A. ’53
Walter E. Goozh, M.D. ’57, B.A. ’54
Stephen B. Hiltabidle, M.D. ’55, RESD ’59
Frank Mate Jr., M.D. ’56
John G. McGregor Jr., M.D. ’53
Mazhar Rishi, M.D., RESD ’90
John Norton Robinson, M.D. ’63
Dennis D. Shepard, M.D. ’63
Harold H. Shively, M.D. ’65
Nelson P. Trujillo, M.D., RESD ’65
A. James Watt, M.D. ’71
Emily Wilson, P.A.-C. ’91